Sunday, May 04, 2008

2008 Edgar Award Winners Announced

The winners of the 2008 Edgar Awards have been announced by the Mystery Writers of America. The 62nd Annual Awards banquet was held last Thursday in New York, where outgoing MWA president Nelson DeMille passed the torch to the incoming president, Edgar winner Harlan Coben.

And the winners (and some of the nominees) were…

Best Novel
Winner: Down River, by John Hart (St. Martin's Minotaur)
Other Nominees:
Christine Falls, by Benjamin Black (Henry Holt and Company)
Priest, by Ken Bruen (St. Martin's Minotaur)
The Yiddish Policemen's Union, by Michael Chabon (HarperCollins)
Soul Patch, by Reed Farrel Coleman (Bleak House Books)

Best First Novel By An American Author
Winner: In the Woods, by Tana French (Penguin Group - Viking)
Other Nominees:
Missing Witness, by Gordon Campbell (HarperCollins - William Morrow)
Snitch Jacket, by Christopher Goffard (The Rookery Press)
Head Games, by Craig McDonald (Bleak House Books)
Pyres, by Derek Nikitas (St. Martin's Minotaur)

Best Paperback Original
Winner: Queenpin, by Megan Abbott (Simon & Schuster)
Other Nominees:
Blood of Paradise, by David Corbett (Random House - Mortalis)
Cruel Poetry, by Vicki Hendricks (Serpent's Tail)
Robbie's Wife, by Russell Hill (Hard Case Crime)
Who is Conrad Hirst?, by Kevin Wignall (Simon & Schuster)

Best Short Story
Winner: "The Golden Gopher," by Susan Straight, Anthology: Los Angeles Noir (Akashic Books)
Other Nominees:
"Blue Note," by Stuart M. Kaminsky, Anthology: Chicago Blues (Bleak House Books)
"Hardly Knew Her," by Laura Lippman, Anthology: Dead Man's Hand (Harcourt, Inc.)
"The Catch," by Mark Ammons, Anthology: Still Waters (Level Best Books)
"Uncle," by Daniel Woodrell, Anthology: A Hell of a Woman (Bleak House Books)

Best Critical/Biographical
Winner: Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters, by Jon Lellenberg, Daniel Stashower and Charles Foley (The Penguin Press)

Best Fact Crime
Winner: Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy, by Vincent Bugliosi (W.W. Norton & Co.)

Best Young Adult
Winner: Rat Life, by Tedd Arnold (Penguin - Dial Books for Young Readers)

Best Juvenile
Winner: The Night Tourist, by Katherine Marsh (Hyperion Books for Young Readers)

In addition to the major categories, a number of special awards were announced. The award for Best Play was given to Panic, written by Joseph Goodrich and performed at the International Mystery Writers Festival. And the award for Best Motion Picture Screenplay went to Michael Clayton, written by Tony Gilroy (Warner Bros. Pictures).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Welcome and thanks for leaving me a comment. I love to hear from visitors.

Also, please note that while I appreciate the thought, I don't play the blog awards game. I think you all deserve awards! But you might think about becoming a follower of my blog -- that would really be the best award.